Error message

Notice: Undefined offset: 3 in _menu_translate() (line 788 of /home/fourofak/public_html/includes/


There are four national services funded by the Ministry of Health, each are required to guide and support the work of all preventing and minimising gambling harm services.  These include:

  • Te Kakano – public health workforce training
  • Abacus – clinical workforce training
  • National Coordination Service –  national coordination of services and sector forums
  • Health Promotion Agency (Minimising Gambling Harm Team) – national education and awareness programme

The National PMGH Advisory Group is being brought together to provide advice, guidance and direction to the service provider infrastructure services; The National Coordination Service, Te Kakano – Public Health Workforce development service, Abacus – Intervention Workforce development service, and the Health Promotion Agency – Choice Not Chance. Other areas for consideration, may also include: 

  • Workforce development issues and priorities
  • Content, design and delivery of the training forums.
  • Education and awareness programme messaging and activities.

NCS Advisory Group Members

Haydee Richards


Terry Huriwai

Workforce Development & Training

Mathew McMillan

Public Health

Marino Murphy

Māori Health

Kelly Feng

Asian Health

Ifo Faanana

Pacific Health

Bridgitte Thornley

Clinical Health